Community Heritage

The identification of provincial heritage is intended to be driven by local authorities. Legislation requires that District Municipalities take responsibility for heritage within their areas of jurisdiction. The municipality is required to engage with the public and provide Amafa with heritage proclamation nomination proposals, which are then considered by The Amafa Council.
In addition to accepting nominations for protection of heritage sites, Amafa accepts requests for assistance from the public to erect markers at heritage sites, notably ancestral sites. Over the past five  years, the Amafa Council has funded markers for the following sites:

  • Dumisa Great Place
  • Ndlela ka Sompisi site
  • Itshe lika Mangethe
  • Grave of Inkosi Dingiswayo
  • Grave of Queen Nandi
  • Tofolo Molefe Ancestral Site
  • Hlubi Ancestral Site
  • Ghabisa Ancestral site
  • Prince Dabulamanzi Grave
  • Site of Mboma Tree
  • Sihayo memorial
  • AmaBhaca Ancestral sites
  • Khondlo Mazibuko Pool
  • Hlopekulu site
  • Tshingwayo kaMahole site
  • Umbiya Mthetwa site
  • Memorial to Black and Indian Non-combattants at Spioenkop
  • Ndaba Ancestral Site
  • Inkosi Maphitha site (partially funded)
  • Ngidi Fortress (Ancestral Site)
  • Addington Indentured labour Cemetery
  • ShakasKraal Indentured Labour cemetery
  • Nzama Ancestral Site
  • Mkwanazi ancestral site
  • King Cetshwayo Death Site